89 GSXR1100 1127cc to 1216cc JE Kit, general engine building questions...

SBK1000

This is my first attempt to engine building, I want to do it right, with a limited budget... So it is Ok if it takes time. I plan to ride the bike a little hard for track days...

1.- Will the stock rods be strong enough or should I look into stronger rods?

2.- What are the suggested services I should consider doing to the head? ...Porting and a valve job? ...I hear the 89 GSXR1100 had the best stock cams. Am I overlooking or missing anything for the head services?

3.- Also, if I am going with 1216 pistons, should I consider also using a dot 750 head?

4.- Any other things I should look into while the motor is off the bike?

Thanks for your input. Luis

Depends what 'limited budget' is could be £500 or £5000 and what you want as an end result?

For most applications, std. rods - IF NOT OVER REV'D - will be fine to 200 odd hp. Oil flow problems are generally what kills rods - keep it flowing, with pressure and cool it well!

Find someone respected for these heads to do the work - the head work must respect what else is being done - bore, cams, carbs, exhaust etc. If its more a road bike than track tool then try and keep full length valve guides - shorter guides good for flow but poor longevity. Don't get ports carved out bigger, just smooth them with improved short turn flow, 30/26 valves will help but added cost, stg 1 or 2 cams will add to the party sometimes more than headwork! 

I'd go with JE or Wosner pistons - Wiseco tend to use up rings quickly IMO. Do not use a DOT head with kit pistons as CR will be through the roof! Busa pistons do not make good NA pistons although could work with a DOT head. The 'M' pattern head is actually the best for flow but cam choices are limited - the shim spitting is only a problem on high rpm motors. My turbo motor still has shims - i'm not worried!

2 hours ago, SBK1000 said: