why does light switch kill all power

richyrich

its the same with two different lightbulbs

no fuses blow, the breaker button thing doesnt move

the ignition switch works , i can see 12.3 volts each side of it when its on, so theres power into the loom

starts and runs with lights off

this started after replacing the connectors to the cdi box cos a coil one had broken. but i didnt test the lights after that just that it ran.  Then i took out the headlight lens to slack the bolts to add a screen . That was when i tested the light and found this problem.

As far as i understand things. i mjustve disturbed a headlight wire which is now shorting .  I'm not an expert and feel i'm missing something obvious

with no bulb in it ive got 12v at the connector and the switch works without killing everything. so maybe not a short in in the loom, looks like dodgy bulb, but does it with different bulbs. 

anyone have any idea what gives and what and how i should be looking for  ?

Without the bulb in place there won't be a complete circuit so not surprising nothing happens. There should be (as far as i'm aware) no direct interaction between ignition and lighting circuits - each separately fused. As fuse don't pop it's unlikely a short but I can't explain the symptoms. Is it side light or main headlights...... could it be a rear lights issue?