Gsxr 750 1990 compression test results advice?

Jpich85

I’m getting the bike ready for powder coat and thought I’d check the compression of the cylinders before the strip down incase I would need to sort the engine out too before reinstalling it, 

i warmed to the engine and check the compression they were pretty low so added a little oil to tech cylinder and redone the tests, I got..

cylinder 1 72psi and 110 after the oil

Cylinder 2 80psi and 120 after the oil

cylinder 3 80psi and 120 after the oil

cylinder 4 75psi and 125 after the oil

I’m not good with engines but from what I’ve seen in the manual that’s pretty low so I’m guessing I’ll need to do a top end rebuild?

i just wanted to check with guys and see what you thought I’d need to do and what else is worth doing while I have the top end stripped for a potential rebuild?

I enjoy welding and machining but engines scare me but I’m keen to give it a try if I need to?

The bike starts fine and it had I think 28k on the clock, I’ve been building this bike over two years now so if it does need a rebuild then that’s fine as I’m in no rush lol

Cheers

I’ve been having a look through the searches and found that due to lack of use the rings can get gummed up and maybe try soaking the cylinders may help, I just wanted to ask what’s best to use to soak the cylinders? Would just petrol be ok? Would I have to drop the oil first?

Its really better if barrels are off and pistons are removed so they can be stood in a solvent / lubricant (Diesel usually works) and the rings spun in their grooves before re-aligning and rebuilding. If done insitu, no guarantee the diesel will get to all of the rings / grooves (unless you used LOADS) so you are back to square one! Of course your rings could be shot, in which case they'll have to be replaced regardless?