1980 Gs550e - new coils fitted - no spark

Hi haven't been on here for a long time - my Gs has been in storage for 18 months due to relocation. It was running before storage with carb rebuild to resolve fuel issues.

Took out of storage with drained carbs, fresh fuel, new battery and replaced the coils as thought cause of occasional missing. Replaced with Hendler coils. 

Now have no spark - tested with all plugs removed, and to test each plug earthed spark plug in ht lead to good earth on cylinder head and cranked over - no tank fitted. Original plugs, new at carb overhaul. Thought unlikely all four fail.

Substituted one of original coils (continuity of lt and ht good). Still no spark.

Just after advice on electrical testing to find the fault. I'm not an electrical expert but have a basic understanding. Was thinking is it possible to test the lt inputs to each coil (multimeter to each input and to earth?) - not sure if the lt circuit through coils are one continuous loop or separate circuits. The online Hendler coil instructions state the lt wires can be connected either way?

Would like to test system logically from someone with better electrical knowledge and experience. Thanks

Edited by StevieB
Spelling auto correct mistake
  • StevieB changed the title to 1980 Gs550e - new coils fitted - no spark

Check that you've got 12Vdc with respect to ground (engine) at the orange/white (?) Wires to the coils. These can go either way round.

The black & white (?) Wires are earth side triggers to the points or electronic ignition back plate.

Thanks for the advice, will check if there's a 12 V supply to the coils to the mentioned wire connection. Hoping this will be the case rather than cdi/signal generator issues. Will post back what I find.