Dyno day prep

TiZiK

I have some dyno time booked in the near future.  What are some things I should do to prep for the day of?

My set up is a 1316cc Turbo gsxr1100 with an efi coversion using a Microsquirt.  I have boost control set up via solenoid and also a methanol injection system from Snow Performance which uses its own controller and a 2 stage MTC lock up clutch.

Currently, I have a basic base tune.  I have never been to a dyno tuning session before so want to show up prepared with expectations of what changes I may have to make on the day of so I can best utilize my time while there.

Any input appreciated

While I have zero experience of dynoing a turbo bike I have done 100's of runs developing my carbed race bikes and I believe the basics apply no matter what.

Make sure the bike is up to it, Dyno runs are brutal. Check the chain/sprockets, rear tyre are in good condition and tensioned. Oil level is correct and take spare oil if you have to remove any covers for any adjustments. Check all oil cooler fitting are tight. Take spare plugs in case you need to change them. Take your own tools including any special ones required ( don't waste the Dyno operators time looking for tools to borrow). Make sure the kill switch works and is easy to operate. Check and double check everything is tight, safe and correctly routed.  You're pay for the operators time and experience so make the most of it.

Don't get hung up on the numbers, you're looking for power where you want it, how you want it.

Take biscuits and make sure they're "the good biscuits".

Enjoy the day.

• Like 3

Besides having the engine running as well as you can get it, plenty of fuel as a long dyno session will drink it, plenty of your methanol injection fluid, tyres correct pressures, take off anything that is liable to fall off or get in the way of straps to hold bike down and make sure that the tuner knows his way around your ecu's software - you don't want him 'learning' on the job!

• Like 1